Open Data for Germany

Be it environmental data, public utility data, geo data, or some other data – the Open Data approach is a key factor, if we want to open up the most important resource of the 21st century – information – and further develop our knowledge-based society.  No one will be able to take this step on their own. Administrations, economies, and societies must come together to open up the potential of data. For example, the availability of infrastructure data, environmental data, and demographic data would enable citizens, NGOs, or companies to combine these to produce a family friendly map. Furthermore, public agencies would improve the quality of their data by publishing their data and offering third-parties the opportunity to point out errors or gaps. The provision of open data will make processes more understandable and strengthen the trust between governments and civil societies. With the Internet of Things, the mounds of data will continue to grow. It is for these reasons that we should manage them – competently, conceptually, and jointly.

Open Government Data – Open Data in the public sector

The provisioning of structured data within the public sector is significantly gaining importance. In the scope of the “Open Data” initiative, authorities and regional body administrations publish data for further use by third parties. The legal framework for Open Data is formed by national standards such as the American FOIA (Freedom of Information Act) or the German IWG (Informationsweiterverwendungsgesetz), otherwise referred to as an information reuse law. Within these standards rules for access and re-use of information from the public sector are determined. To ease handling, administrative data should be provided within a central platform. The advantages are apparent: citizens can obtain information relating to processes and achievements of their administration, while at the same time administrators are less burdened with handling citizens. Furthermore, administrators will then be able to find their administrative data easily and with greater efficiency.

Open Data – The key to innovation and new business models in the private sector

Internet-based Open Data platforms not only motivate transparency and active participation of administrators, they also enable new business models and promote the development of services and applications. The opening of databases accompanied by the increasing prevalence of mobile devices offers a huge economic potential for innovative companies, start-ups and talented developers. The combination of Open Data and open innovation enables the realization of concrete applications in areas such as health, energy, traffic and aspects of the surrounding environment with direct influence on everyday life in the smart city of tomorrow. Motivating public and private institutions to open their data also requires a fundamental change in administrative processes and thinking.

With over two decades of experience under its belt, Fraunhofer FOKUS is well-established in realizing and providing scientific consultation for IT projects in the public sector. Currently, Fraunhofer FOKUS scientists are working on numerous national and international projects in the Open Data space. They are developing concepts and coming up with new technology based solutions.

Print Friendly

Offene Daten für Deutschland

Ob Umwelt-, Versorgungs-, Geo- und andere Daten – der Open Data-Ansatz ist entscheidend, wenn man die wichtigste Ressource des 21. Jahrhunderts – die Information – erschließen und die Wissensgesellschaft weiterentwickeln will. Diesen Schritt schafft niemand im Alleingang. Verwaltung, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft müssen zusammen kommen, um die Potenziale der Daten zu öffnen. Dann wird aus einer Verknüpfung von Betreuungsinfrastruktur, Umweltbelastung und Demographie z.B. eine Landkarte der Familienfreundlichkeit, aufgebaut und  betrieben von Bürgern, NGOs oder Unternehmen. Oder eine Behörde verbessert ihre Datenqualität, indem sie ihre Daten veröffentlicht und den Menschen die Möglichkeit gibt, auf Fehler oder Lücken hinzuweisen. Das macht Prozesse nachvollziehbar und stärkt das Vertrauen zwischen Politik und Zivilgesellschaft. Mit dem Internet der Dinge werden die Datenberge weiter wachsen. Wir sollten sie bewirtschaften – kompetent, konzeptionell und gemeinsam.

Open Government Data – Offene Daten im öffentlichen Sektor

Die strukturierte Bereitstellung von Daten und Informationen im öffentlichen Sektor gewinnt immer mehr an Bedeutung. Unter dem Schlagwort „Open Data“ veröffentlichen Behörden und Gebietskörperschaften Daten zur Weiterverwendung durch Dritte. Den Rechtsrahmen für Open Data bilden nationale Normen wie das Informationsfreiheitsgesetz oder das Informationsweiterverwendungsgesetz. Darin werden Regeln des Zugangs und der Weiterverwendung von Informationen des öffentlichen Sektors festgelegt. Die Verwaltungsdaten können dabei auf einer zentralen Plattform bereitgestellt werden. Die Vorteile liegen auf der Hand: Bürger können sich leichter über Prozesse und Ergebnisse ihrer Verwaltungen informieren, während gleichzeitig Verwaltungsmitarbeiter von Einzelauskünften entlastet werden und schneller Daten finden, die ihre Kollegen aus anderen Abteilungen bereits einsetzen. Die Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der öffentlichen Verwaltung wird so effizienter.

Open Data – Der Schlüssel zu Innovationen und neuen Geschäftsmodellen im privatwirtschaftlichen Sektor

Internetbasierte Open-Data-Plattformen geben nicht nur für transparentes Verwaltungshandeln und Partizipation neue Impulse. Sie bieten auch Möglichkeiten für neue Geschäftsmodelle und begünstigen die Entwicklung von Diensten und Anwendungen. Die Öffnung von Datenbeständen verbunden mit der stetig zunehmenden Verbreitung von mobilen Endgeräten bietet zudem ein großes wirtschaftliches Potenzial für innovative Unternehmen, Start-ups und talentierte Entwickler. Die sinnvolle Verknüpfung von Open Data und Open Innovation ermöglicht die Umsetzung konkreter Anwendungen in Bereichen wie Gesundheit, Energie, Verkehr und Umwelt mit direktem Einfluss auf das alltägliche Leben in der intelligenten Stadt von morgen. Die Umsetzung von Open Data in öffentlichen und privaten Institutionen setzt jedoch einen grundlegenden Wandel im Verwaltungshandeln und -denken voraus.

Fraunhofer FOKUS verfügt über langjährige Erfahrungen in der Umsetzung und der wissenschaftlichen Begleitung von IT-Projekten im öffentlichen Sektor. In zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Projekten erarbeiten die Wissenschaftler derzeit Konzepte, Technologien und Lösungen rund um das Thema Open Data.

Print Friendly