One of the main goals of the GovData.de prototype is to unite as many open data sets from Germany as possible in a single catalogue. Thspre biggest part is automatically imported by so-called harvesters. In this article we provide you with an overview on which tools have been used and how useful they have proven.

In earlier articles we showed that a metadata structure which is based on CKAN is used. We also reported on a workshop with the operators of the catalogues which are to be harvested. In this context, four different import techniques were presented: JSON import, CKAN-CKAN harvesting, CSW-ISO19115-harvesting and CKAN-REST-API. In practice, primarily the first three approaches have proven to be the most useful.

Mähdrescher

Harvesting at large
(Foto: JSmith Photo,
Lizenz: Creative Commons keine Bearbeitung)

With the JSON import, the operators of the remote catalogues just name an HTTP URL, under which we can retrieve a JSON file that is updated on a daily basis and contains all of the data sets. This procedure has been used in Bremen, Bayern and Moers. With a few feedback loops, the providers were able to optimize their individual JSON export tools to the extent that a smooth integration of the metadata is possible. The metadata were initially loaded with the Unix application “wget”, if necessary given basic adjustments with a python script, and finally uploaded to the GovData.de-CKAN with the Python library ckanclient. We are currently integrating these steps in our own CKAN harvesting plug-in which makes the regular harvesting easier.

The CKAN-CKAN harvesting is used in the data portals of Hamburg, Berlin, Rostock and Rhineland-Palatinate. Theoretically, it is possible to use the CKAN harvesting extension ckanext-harvest for this task without a further development or configuration, as the providers orientate themselves towards the suggested metadata structure. In practice, however, it is necessary to take several details into account: the adoption of the categories (CKAN: “groups”), for instance, only works with minor tricks, sometimes, the allocation CKAN.author ↔ “publishing authority” is not consistently used, the use of the locally clear CKAN.name and .id has to be considered thoroughly, and capital letters and special characters in the tags, or keywords, are not transferred properly. In addition to this, keywords and titles also have to be supplemented sometimes, since the Hamburg metadata catalogue, for example, naturally does not tag all of the data sets with the word “Hamburg”. Technically, however, this approach is very elegant, since among others, with every update, only those data sets that have been changed in the intervening period are transferred.

Importing geo metadata which are coded according to the ISO 19115 standard is somewhat more complicated (see Working Group metadata site). In my opinion, this is because geo data are distributed and (should be) consumed very differently from the normal approach with open data. In this context, date are called ‘products’, frequently CDs or paper maps, which are gathered and found on the basis of the metadata, but then usually a contract is signed and the data is handed over directly by the provider to the contractual partner. Thus, the details ‘online resource’ and ‘licence’, which are of key importance for Open Data, only have a very limited level of relevance in terms of both the standard and the use by the data provider. Then there is the fact that the very detailed (meta) data model is used with differing profiles from federal state to federal state, which means that it is difficult, for instance, to identify the publishing authority in all the data sets of Geoportal.de which covers the whole of Germany.

For this reason, the import of Geoportal.de and PortalU.de has been put on hold. It has been possible, however, to partially import destatis, the Regional Database and the Open Data-offering of the Environment Office of Lower Saxony. Here, the standard was implemented very consistently and the question of the licences partially clarified (DL-DE-BY and/or UDL). For the harvesting, we have developed a branch of the CKAN extension ckanext-spatial. This adapts the standard CSW client (Catalog Service for the Web) to destatis and the regional statistics: Here, instead of CSW, zipped XML files are distributed via HTTP. At the Environmental Office of Lower Saxony, the relevant data sets are found through a CSW enquiry for ‘opendataident’. Hamburg also uses the CSW harvester to transfer metadata from the Hamburg metadata catalogue to a Hamburg CKAN.

Harvesting-Architektur

Harvesting-Architektur

The first two importers are only based on the ckanext-harvest extension and have therefore been directly installed in the productive CKAN of GovData.de. The ISO Harvester, however, is based on the quite comprehensive ckanext-spatial extension and therefore runs on a separate machine. In a next step, the data sets are then transferred to the actual data catalogue.

In the further development of these and new harvesters, we think that it is necessary for the following problems to be addressed:

  • Differing semantics: What exactly are data, documents, apps? How are services aligned? What is the meaning of time stamps when metadata is harvested from several different catalogues?
  • The standardisation of key words: How do we resolve the problem of ambiguous and differing designations for identical meanings (homonyms and synonyms)? How do we summarize similar tags (tag curation)?
  • Recognizing duplicates: Until now, duplicate data at GovData.de were the exception for organizational reasons. However, the more catalogues are networked with each other, the more it is necessary to ensure that duplicates are reliably recognized using the fields metadata_original_portal und metadata_original_id.
  • Synchronization instead of harvesting: Nowadays it is usually clear from where to where the harvesting is taking place, yet challenges are also foreseeable here: Berlin, for example, is interested in the datasets of destatis that contain the keyword Berlin; the university library centre of the federal state of North Rhine-Westphalia (hbz) has registered its Open Data exports at thedatahub.org, yet they also belong to GovData.de.

That final point is also clearly evident today: those who harvest are also harvested. The GovData.de metadata are found at offenedaten.de. It is possible that there will be harvesting in the direction of EU and in further special catalogues. We hope that we are able to support these processes through exposing our CKAN-API and the maintenance of the metadata structure.

In conclusion, it can be said that harvesting accounts for a key part of the work at GovData.de and clearly offers a corresponding added value. To grow continuously better in this area, a lot of small scale work is necessary. The cooperation between the providers and catalogue operators should ideally lead to a subsequent standardization of the metadata structure and the catalogue interfaces.

This work and its content is subject to a Creative Commons Naming 3.0 Unported Licence.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author: Florian Marienfeld

No Comments

  1. Pingback: Open Data | Pearltrees

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Eins der Hauptziele des Prototyps GovData.de ist es, möglichst viele offene Datensätze aus Deutschland in einem Katalog zu vereinigen. Der größte Teil wird dabei automatisch durch so genannte Harvester importiert. In diesem Artikel geben wir Ihnen eine Übersicht, welche Werkzeuge dabei zum Einsatz gekommen sind, und wie diese sich bewährt haben.

In früheren Artikeln hatten wir dargestellt, dass eine auf CKAN basierende Metadaten-Struktur eingesetzt wird. Außerdem berichteten wir über einen Workshop mit Betreibern der zu erntendenen Kataloge. Dabei wurden vier verschiedene Import-Wege vorgestellt: JSON-Import, CKAN-CKAN-Harvesting, CSW-ISO19115-Harvesting und CKAN-REST-API. In der Praxis haben sich sich vor allem die ersten drei Wege bewährt.

Mähdrescher

Harvesting im großen Stil
(Foto: JSmith Photo,
Lizenz: Creative Commons keine Bearbeitung)

Beim JSON-Import nennen die Betreiber der zu integrierenden Kataloge einmalig eine HTTP-URL, unter der wir tagesaktuell eine JSON-Datei abrufen können, die alle Datensätze enthält. Dieses Verfahren wurde bei Bremen, Bayern und Moers eingesetzt. Mit wenigen Feedbackschleifen konnten die Bereitsteller ihre individuellen JSON-Export-Werkzeuge so optimieren, dass eine reibungslose Integration der Metadaten möglich ist. Zunächst wurden die Metadaten einmalig mit dem Unixprogramm wget geladen, ggf. mit einem Python-Skript minimal angepasst und abschließend mit der Python-Bibliothek ckanclient ins GovData.de-CKAN geladen. Aktuell integrieren wir diese Schritte in ein eigenes CKAN-Harvesting-Plugin, was das regelmäßige Harvesting erleichtert.

Das CKAN-CKAN-Harvesting wird in den Portalen von Hamburg, Berlin, Rostock und Rheinland-Pfalz eingesetzt. Theoretisch kann hierfür die CKAN-Harvesting-Erweiterung ckanext-harvest ohne weitere Entwicklung oder Konfiguration benutzt werden, da die Bereitsteller sich an der vorgeschlagenen Metadaten-Struktur orientieren. In der Praxis müssen jedoch viele Details beachtet werden: Das Übernehmen der Kategorien (CKAN: „groups“) etwa funktioniert nur mit kleinen Tricks, teilweise wird die Zuordnung CKAN.author ↔ „Veröffentlichende Stelle“ nicht konsequent umgesetzt, der Umgang mit dem lokal eindeutigen CKAN.name und .id muss gut überlegt sein und Großbuchstaben und Sonderzeichen in den tags, also Schlagwörtern, werden nicht einwandfrei übertragen. Außerdem müssen Schlagwörter und Titel auch hier teilweise ergänzt werden, da beispielsweise der Hamburger Metadaten-Katalog natürlich nicht alle Datensätze mit „Hamburg“ verschlagwortet. Technisch ist dieser Weg trotz allem sehr elegant, da unter anderem bei jeder Aktualisierung tatsächlich nur die zwischenzeitlich geänderten Datensätze übertragen werden.

Etwas komplizierter ist der Import von Geometadaten, die nach dem Standard ISO19115 kodiert sind (vgl. Seite des AK Metadaten). Das liegt meines Erachtens daran, dass Geodaten ganz anders verteilt und konsumiert werden (sollten) als bei offenen Daten üblich. Dort wird von Produkten gesprochen, häufig CDs oder Papierkarten, die zwar anhand der Metadaten erfasst und gefunden werden, es folgt dann aber üblicherweise der Abschluss eines Vertrags und die gezielte Übergabe der Daten vom Bereitsteller an den Vertragspartner. Dementsprechend erhalten die für Open Data zentralen Angaben „Online-Ressource“ und „Lizenz“ sowohl im Standard als auch in der Benutzung durch die Datenbereitsteller nur sehr geringe Bedeutung. Hinzu kommt, dass das sehr umfangreiche (Meta-)Datenmodell von Bundesland zu Bundesland mit unterschiedlichen Profilen eingesetzt wird, so dass es schwierig ist, z. B. die veröffentlichende Stelle in allen Datensätzen des ganz Deutschland umfassenden Geoportal.de zu identifizieren.

Aus diesem Grund wurden der Import von Geoportal.de und PortalU.de vertagt. Sehr wohl konnten aber auf dem ISO19115-Weg destatis, die Regionaldatenbank und das Open-Data-Angebot des Niedersächsischen Umweltministeriums teilweise importiert werden. Hier wurde der Standard sehr konsistent umgesetzt und die Lizenzfrage pauschal geklärt (DL-DE-BY bzw. UDL). Wir haben für das Harvesten eine Variante der CKAN-Erweiterung ckanext-spatial entwickelt. Diese passt den ansonsten üblichen CSW-Client (Catalog Service for the Web) an destatis die Regionalstatistik an: Hier werden statt CSW gezippte XML-Dateien per HTTP verteilt. Beim Niedersächsischen Umweltministerium werden die relevanten Datensätze durch eine CSW-Anfrage nach „opendataident“ gefunden. Übrigens setzt Hamburg ebenfalls den CSW-Harvester ein, um Metadaten aus dem Hamburger Metadaten-Katalog in ein Hamburger CKAN zu übertragen.

Harvesting-Architektur

Harvesting-Architektur

Die ersten beiden Importer basieren nur auf der Erweiterung ckanext-harvest und wurden daher direkt im Produktiv-CKAN von GovData.de installiert. Der ISO-Harvester basiert jedoch auf der recht umfangreichen Erweiterung ckanext-spatial und wird daher auf einem getrennten Rechner betrieben. In einem weiteren Schritt werden die Datensätze dann in den eigentlichen Datenkatalog übertragen.

Beim weiteren Entwickeln von diesen und neuen Harvestern müssen nach unserer Einschätzung folgende Probleme adressiert werden:

  • Unterschiedliches Verständnis: Was genau sind Daten, Dokumente, Apps? Wie ordnen sich Dienste ein? Welche Bedeutung haben Zeitstempel, wenn Metadaten über mehrere Kataloge hinweg geharvestet werden?
  • Die Vereinheitlichung von Schlagwörter: Wie löst man mehrdeutige und unterschiedliche Bezeichnungen für identische Bedeutungen auf (Homonyme und Synonyme)? Wie fasst man ähnliche Tags zusammen (tag curation)?
  • Dubletten erkennen: Bisher bilden doppelt erfasste Daten bei GovData.de aus organisatorischen Gründen die Ausnahme. Doch je mehr Kataloge miteinander vernetzt werden, desto genauer muss darauf geachtet werden, dass anhand der Felder metadata_original_portal und metadata_original_id Dubletten zuverlässig erkannt werden.
  • Synchronisation statt Harvesting: Heute ist meist klar von wo nach wo geharvestet wird, aber auch hier sind Herausforderungen absehbar: Beispielsweise ist Berlin an den Datensätzen von destatis interessiert, die das Schlagwort Berlin enthalten; das Hochschulbibliothekszentrum des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen (hbz) hat seine Open Data Exporte schon seit langem bei thedatahub.org registriert, sie gehören jedoch auch zu GovData.de.

Der letzte Punkt ist auch heute schon zu beobachten: Wer harvestet, wird auch geharvestet. Die GovData.de-Metadaten finden sich bei offenedaten.de. Möglicherweise wird es ein Harvesting Richtung EU und in weitere Spezialkataloge geben. Wir hoffen, dass wir durch das Freigeben der CKAN-API und das Pflegen der Metadaten-Struktur diese Prozesse unterstützen können.

Zusammenfassend lässt sich sagen, dass das Harvesting einen wesentlichen Teil der Arbeit bei GovData.de ausgemacht hat und durchaus einen entsprechenden Mehrwert bietet. Um hier kontinuierlich besser zu werden, ist viel kleinteilige Arbeit notwendig. Die Abstimmung zwischen den Bereitstellern und Katalogbetreibern sollte idealerweise zu einer nachlaufenden Standardisierung der Metadaten-Struktur und Katalog-Schnittstellen führen.

Creative Commons Lizenzvertrag
Dieses Werk bzw. Inhalt steht unter einer Creative Commons Namensnennung 3.0 Unported Lizenz.

Print Friendly

Über den Autor: Florian Marienfeld

Keine Kommentare

  1. Pingback: Open Data | Pearltrees

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.