OPEN DATA ANALYTICS AS A SERVICE

How can administrators analyze Open Data given constantly rising data volumes? This issue will be pursued in the Open Data Analytics as a Service study that Fraunhofer FOKUS will perform in conjunction with the ISPRAT Institute. Innovative, applications based on Open Data that add value can only be realized via analysis across varying sources.

Currently, progressive solutions for data analytics addressing retention, publishing, and preparation of high-volume big data are starting to roll out onto the market. Technologies such as NoSQL, linked open data, business intelligence, and cloud computing represent single modules along the way to a holistic solution that will best manage and derive valuable information.

The goal of the research will be to show the potentials and the barriers for data analytic tools as a service. For existing data analytic tools the suitability in handling file formats and interface capabilities will be analyzed, as typically provided on Open Data platforms. Furthermore, we will research to what extent these tools can be integrated into existing platforms.

Partner: ISPRAT Institut

Contact:

Dr. Klaus-Peter Eckert
klaus-peter.eckert@fokus.fraunhofer.de

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

OPEN DATA ANALYTICS AS A SERVICE

Wie kann bei stetig steigenden Datenmengen die Auswertung offener Daten für verwaltungsinterne und -externe Akteure einfach gestaltet werden?  Dieser Frage soll in der Studie „Open Data Analytics as a Service“ nachgegangen werden, die Fraunhofer FOKUS mit Unterstützung des ISPRAT Instituts durchführt. Innovative, auf offenen Daten aufbauende Mehrwert­anwendungen werden erst durch die Analyse und Verschneidung von Daten aus unterschiedlichen Quellen möglich.

Am Markt für Datenanalyse (Data Analytics) existieren zunehmend dedizierte Lösungen zur Speicherung, Veröffentlichung und Aufbereitung von hochvolumigen „big data“, also von schnell wachsenden Datenmengen. Technologien aus Bereichen wie NoSQL, Linked Open Data, Business Intelligence und Cloud Computing stellen einzelne Bausteine auf dem Weg zu einer holistischen Aufbereitung und Bereitstellung derartiger Daten und abgeleiteter Informationen dar.

Ein Ziel der Untersuchungen ist es, Potenziale und Hindernisse für Werkzeuge zur Datenanalyse als Dienst bzw. Dienstleistung aufzuzeigen. Für existierende „Data Analytics“-Werkzeuge wird deren Eignung zum Umgang mit den Formaten und Schnittstellen analysiert, die typischerweise auf Open Data-Plattformen bereitgestellt werden. Weiterhin wird untersucht, inwieweit sich die Werkzeuge in existierende Plattformen integrieren lassen.

Partner: ISPRAT Institut

Ansprechpartner:

Dr. Klaus-Peter Eckert
klaus-peter.eckert@fokus.fraunhofer.de

Print Friendly, PDF & Email